October 4, 2021

The Swartz Foundation
2021 Annual Meeting

This virtual meeting was organized and led by profs. A. Fairhall and E. Shea-Brown from the U of Washington in Seattle.

The meeting agenda and selected talks and presentation slides are available here.

September 2, 2020

The Swartz Foundation Announces Winners of the Open Post-Doc Competition

The Swartz Foundation is happy to announce the two winners of the 3rd Round of the Open Post-Doc Competition:

Dr. Ann Watson Draelos from Duke University for her research proposal on adaptive algorithms for automated circuit dissection, and Dr. Gregory A. Handy from the University of Chicago for his research proposal on theoretical frameworks for plasticity in diverse brain cell types.

The Swartz Foundation congratulates the new Fellows and wishes them success in their research endeavors.

The Swartz Foundation Announces the 3rd Round of the Open Post-Doc Competition
Submission Deadline was August 5, 2020. This competition is now closed.

March 30, 2020

24th Annual Stony Brook Mind/Brain Lecture - CANCELED
Featuring Prof. Donald Katz, Brandeis University

July 21-24, 2019

Sloan-Swartz Centers for Theoretical Neurobiology: 2019 Annual Meeting
Janelia Research Campus, Ashburn, VA

April 4, 2016

20th Annual Stony Brook Mind/Brain Lecture
Featuring Alan Alda, Nobel Laureate Eric Kandel and renowned mathematician Jim Simons

Research Centers and Initiatives

Brandeis University
California Institute of Technology
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Columbia University
Harvard University
New York University
Princeton University
Salk Institute
University of California at San Diego
University of Washington
Yale University

The Swartz Prize for Theoretical and Computational Neuroscience

The Swartz Prize for Theoretical and Computational Neuroscience was established in 2008. It is an annual award supported by the Swartz Foundation and administered by the Society for Neuroscience. The award "honors an individual whose activities have produced a significant cumulative contribution to theoretical models or computational methods in neuroscience or who has made a particularly noteworthy recent advance in theoretical or computational neuroscience."

The winner receives a cash prize of US$30000 and expenses to attend the Society for Neuroscience annual meeting. The list of awardees is available here. The awardee for 2020 is Prof. Emery N. Brown of MIT and Harvard Medical School.

Mind/Brain Lecture Series

Since 1997 the Swartz Foundation has been sponsoring the annual Mind/Brain Lecture Series, hosted by the Department of Neurobiology and Behavior at Stony Brook University In New York. For a list of past speakers please click here.

For information about the current lecture please click here. As described in this link, "the lecture series promotes the philosophical and scientific perspective that properties of the mind from sensory perception to learning to thinking to consciousness are a direct product of the intrinsic physical properties of the brain."

Wednesday, December 1, 2021
About the Swartz Foundation...
The Swartz Foundation was established by Jerry Swartz (bio) in 1994 . . .
Follow us...
The Swartz Foundation is on Twitter: SwartzCompNeuro
About - Overview
Strategic Intent
Current Activities
Jerry Swartz - Biography
Books We Read
www.theswartzfoundation.org                           Copyright © The Swartz Foundation 2021